Ohio.gov  |   State Agencies   |   Online Services

Individual P.E., P.S., DUAL


Registrants are reminded that Board policy allows up to a maximum of three (3) hours continuing professional development per year for the completion of correspondence courses (paper, online, or other formats) provided the course and course provider meet the requirements of R.C. 4733.151.

Important- Do not confuse correspondence courses and online courses. Correspondence courses are courses that involve reading articles or other text and can be received by mail or online. Correspondence courses are typically self-paced and participation is not monitored by the provider. These types of courses are acceptable up to three hours per year.

Renewal notices will be mailed the first week of November 2015 for the 2016-2017 individual renewal period. 

Online renewal

Renewal notices were mailed on November 2, 2015. Your user id and password are included in your renewal notice. All registrants should receive their renewal notice by November 6, 2015. 


Paper Renewal

Paper renewals are available in Word documents that can be filled out online, printed and then sent with your renewal fee, or you may print the document and complete by hand.

CLICK HERE -> PE Renewal Form

CLICK HERE -> PS Renewal Form

CLICK HERE -> Dual Renewal Form


Do not send any CPD documentation or records with your renewal application.

The Board strongly encourages online renewal. It is faster and can provide more accurate feedback. In addition, we can only accept check or money order for paper renewals. To use a credit card, you must renew online. For those who prefer a paper renewal, our renewal forms are provided here. These are not fill-in forms, and must be completed manually.

Company/Firm - Certificate of Authorization

$75.00 Fee In Effect for Certificate of Authorization Renewal Applications

If your Certificate of Authorization renewal application did not arrive in the Board office by June 30, 2014, a 50% penalty to the renewal fee is now in effect. A $75.00 fee ($50.00 biennial renewal + $25.00 late fee) must accompany all applications received by the Board after June 30, 2014 or the applications will be returned. Certificates of Authorization cannot be renewed online or by telephone.

Go to the Board’s Firms | COA page to begin your 2015-2016 Certificate of Authorization Late Renewal 

P.E., P.S. Retirement Card

If you are considering permanently retiring from practicing professional engineering or professional surveying in Ohio, you may request a retirement card. You may email the Board to request to have your license put into "Inactive" status and request a retirement card at lisa.faigenbaum@pes.ohio.gov

About P.E., P.S. Biennial Renewal

Licenses are renewed on a biennial basis. The upcoming renewal is for the 2016-2017 biennium. The Continuing Professional Development (CPD) requirement for renewal is 30 hours of CPD earned between January 1, 2014 and December 31, 2015. The board will also allow up to 15-hours of carry over CPD from the previous biennium if a licensee exceeded the requirements in the last biennium. This requirement must be met before renewing the license; it cannot be anticipated. 

Go to Continuing Education pages