Ohio.gov  |   State Agencies   |   Online Services
Continuing Education | Provider Guidelines

Ohio’s State Board of Registration for Professional Engineers and Surveyors does not pre-approve continuing education providers or activities. The Board does, however, require that the provider and the activity meet certain standards. The following information is provided in order to assist continuing education providers in developing courses, seminars and classes that meet Ohio continuing professional development laws.

  • The provider/instructor must be competent, knowledgeable, qualified and reputable in the subject matter they are teaching.
  • The provider/instructor must be current and technically accurate with respect to their teaching and content.
  • The course must cover technical, ethical or managerial topics relevant to the practices of engineering and surveying.
  • The activity should include interaction between the participant and the instructor. This may be in the form of a written or electronic exam, or an opportunity for the participants to ask questions at the end of a lecture.
  • The provider must be able to track attendance and verify completion.
  • The provider must give a certificate of completion or other evidence verifying attendance at the end of the activity. The certificate should include the activity title, activity description, number of hours completed, the date of the activity, the location/address, the attendee’s name, and the provider or instructor’s name.
  • Generally, one hour of course attendance equals one hour of CPD credit.
  • The Board does not provide certificate of completion templates.
Continuing Education | CPD Conversion Hours

Description | CPD Hours

  • 1 university or college semester hour = 45 CPD hours
  • 1 university or college quarter hour = 30 CPD hours
  • 1 continuing education unit (CEU) = 10 CPD hours
  • 1 published paper, article or book (only in the year published) = 10 CPD hours
  • 1 patent awarded (ONLY U.S. patents in the year awarded) = 10 CPD hours
  • 1 year of service as an officer or active committee member of a professional or technical society or association = 2 CPD hours
  • 1 year of participation on the Ohio professional surveyor exam workshop committee or member of the Board’s expert panel = 2 CPD hours
  • 1 hour of attendance at a conference, seminar or workshop = 1 CPD hour
  • 1 contact hour of teaching a class for the first time = 1 CPD hour
Continuing Education | Recordkeeping

The registrant shall be responsible for maintaining records to support his or her own professional development hours. Records required include, but are not limited to:

  • A log showing the type of activity claimed, sponsoring organization, location, duration, instructors or speaker’s name and hours earned.
  • Documents supporting evidence of attendance: completion certificates, attendance log or other documents supporting evidence of completion.

Records must be maintained for a period of four years. Such documentation shall be made available to the Board for random audit and/or verification purposes. Documentation must support the professional development hours claimed.

CPD Activity Log

DO NOT include your CPD Activity Log or any CPD documentation with your P.E. or P.S. renewal. When needed, the Board will directly request CPD paperwork from you in writing.

CPD Log